top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecleach78

Radiotherapy Done

So, this morning I visited Northampton Hospital for my final radiotherapy session, so the first battle in the fight back is complete. Trouble is I need to wait a while for the result.

Radiotherapy involves lying on a bench in the middle of a big room with a big machine pointing at your head. The radiographers spend ages lining me up with the green laser beams. Using mirrors and stroking the bones in my head, adjusting the bench millimetre by millimetre, before just telling me not to move and then leaving the room.

After a few moments there is a clunk from the machine, a strange metallic taste in my mouth as the radiation hits. Then a pause as the machine swings to the other side And the process is repeated. lasers, mirrors, “don’t move!”, clunk, taste.


I can now feel the ten sessions, my head feels fuzzy all the time and the taste keeps coming back when my mouth waters. I,m also exhausted, physically and mentally. The steroids im on to reduce the brain swelling make me constantly hungry and my appetite means I am putting on weight rapidly. so I get out of breath very easily.

They did say that the effects of the radiotherapy would build and may worsen in the days that follow the final session. So I am not particularly looking forward to the next few days but at least I have a break before chemotherapy starts and can now focus on having a wonderful Christmas with my amazing family.



497 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Today

So as I am writing this chris and I are being transported back to brackley from Eastbourne in an ambulance. As you know we have been trying to do some amazing things thanks to some wonderful people an

Not the update i hoped to give

So, over the past week i have had a couple more scans to determine progress and effectiveness of radiotherapy. Unfortunately last week's CT scan has shown that the cancer from colon has now spread to

2021!!!!!

I knew 2021 was going to be bad but bloody hell, will we ever get a break?! So chris went along to his pre chemo appointment last Friday. We thought He would get the picc line fitted ready for chemo t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page